Vernacular architecture reinterpreted
General
From the beginning of the 20th century to the Civil War
The large urban operations at the end of the century, such as the construction of Marqués de Larios Street, Málaga Park and Paseo de Sancha, define the architecture of the first decades of the century:[1] bourgeois boulevards of public, commercial and rental housing buildings, in the historic center, and spa architecture by the sea, with luxurious hotels and villas for high society families: the Álvarez Net, the Loring, the Gross, the Villapadierna, the Peralta, the Vergara Utrera, the Souvirón, the Bolín, the Garrett, the Krauel, the Pérez Bryan, the López Cózar, the García Herrera, the Heredia or the Álvarez de Toledo[2]... They are works of ornate and luxurious architecture, of an eclectic historicism that mixes neo-Mudejar, neo-Arab, neo-baroque and modernist influences. Both private and public buildings are designed for the use of the same social elite of owners, industrialists, businessmen, liberal professionals and senior members of the administration, who form the ruling stratum of the bourgeois city and who are also the main consumers of the leisure, cultural and fashion spaces of the new city.
Fernando Guerrero Strachan, nephew of Eduardo Strachan, is the author of the first large hotels next to the beach,[3] the Hotel Hernán Cortés (1919), current Hotel Caleta Palace, and the Hotel Príncipe de Asturias, current Hotel Miramar "Hotel Miramar (Málaga)") (1926). He also designed luxurious residential buildings such as the houses of Félix Sáenz (Paseo de Reding, no. 37; 1922) or the houses on Juan Díaz Street, no. 4 (1922) and several villas in La Caleta and Monte Sancha, such as La Bougainvillea or the current headquarters of the College of Architects of Málaga (1924). Also municipal and provincial architect Manuel Rivera Valentín, built the Félix Sáenz Warehouses (1914), the Echegaray Theater (1932) and Sweden Villa (1904), in Limonar. Strachan and Rivera collaborate on the project of the former headquarters of the Banco Hispanoamericano (1914) and the town hall (1919). Shortly afterwards, Teodoro de Anasagasti built the Post and Telegraph House (1923) on the adjacent site, the current Rectorate of the University of Malaga. Daniel Rubio, municipal architect in the 1920s,[5] was in charge of the Salamanca Market "Mercado de Salamanca (Málaga)") (San Bartolomé, no. 1; 1925), the Sagasta residential building, no. 5 (1925) and Villa Fernanda (paseo de Miramar, 16), as well as the Ensanche Plan (1929), which is not carried out.