urban mortuary plan
Introduction
The London Necropolis Railway was a railway line opened in November 1854 by the London Necropolis Company (LNC), to transport corpses and mourners between London and the LNC's then newly opened Brookwood Cemetery, 37 kilometers south-west of London at Brookwood, Surrey. At the time, Brookwood Cemetery, the largest in the world, had been designed to be large enough to house all of London's dead for centuries to come, and the LNC hoped to gain a monopoly on London's funeral industry. The cemetery had been deliberately built far enough from London so that it was never affected by urban growth and depended on the newly invented railway to connect it to the city.
The railway ran largely along the existing tracks of the London and South Western Railway (LSWR), but had its own branch lines from the main line, both at London and Brookwood. The trains carried coffins and passengers from a specific station in Waterloo, London, to the tracks of the LSWR. Upon reaching the cemetery, the trains reversed along a specific branch line, to two stations in the cemetery: one, for the burial of Anglicans; and another, for the burial of non-conformists (non-Anglicans) and those who did not want a Church of England funeral. The waiting rooms at the station and the compartments on the train, for both living and deceased passengers, were divided according to religion and social class, to prevent both mourners and corpses from different social origins from mixing. In addition to regular funeral traffic, the London Necropolis Railway was used to transport large quantities of exhumed bodies during the mass transfer from various cemeteries in London to Brookwood.
The company failed to monopolize the funeral industry and the system was not as successful as the promoters had hoped. While they had planned to transport between 10,000 and 50,000 bodies a year, by 1941, after 87 years of operations, only just over 200,000 burials had been made at Brookwood Cemetery, roughly equivalent to around 2,300 bodies a year.
On the night of 16/17 April 1941, the London terminal was severely damaged during an aerial bombardment and was rendered unusable. Although the LNC continued to offer occasional funeral services from Waterloo station to Brookwood station immediately north of the cemetery, the London Necropolis Railway was no longer used. Shortly after the end of the Second World War, the surviving parts of the London station were sold as office space and the graveyard tracks were removed. The part of the London building that housed the LNC offices is preserved today. The two cemetery stations remained open as refreshment kiosks for some years, but were subsequently demolished. The site of the north station, which served the Nonconformist cemetery, is currently overgrown with weeds. The site of the Anglican south station is now home to a Russian Orthodox monastery and a shrine to King Edward the Martyr, which incorporates the surviving station platform and former station chapels.