UNESCO Headquarters
Introduction
The headquarters of Unesco (in French: siège de l'Unesco or maison de l'Unesco) in Paris is made up of the main building called Fontenoy, located at 7 Place de Fontenoy, and annex buildings called Bonvin/Miollis, in the VII arrondissement. In total it has an area of 135,000 m².[1] It is a cultural place that can be visited for free.[2].
Design
Between 1946 and 1958, UNESCO headquarters was located in the former Hôtel Majestic, in the 16th arrondissement.
The main building of UNESCO is the fruit of the joint work of three architects: the Frenchman Bernard Zehrfuss, the American Marcel Breuer and the Italian Pier Luigi Nervi. His project was approved by an international committee of five architects, composed of Lucio Costa (Brazil), Walter Gropius (United States), Le Corbusier (France), Sven Markelius (Sweden) and Ernesto Nathan Rogers (Italy), with the collaboration of Eero Saarinen (Finland). Work began on April 10, 1955, and on November 3, 1958, the new UNESCO headquarters was inaugurated.
Since its inauguration, the headquarters turned out to be too small due to the increase in the number of countries joining the organization. Between 1963 and 1964, a new building with several patios was built, designed by Roberto Burle Marx. The Miollis/Bonvin annex site was built later, between 1967 and 1984, based on successive acquisitions, taking into account the relatively strong limitations (co-ownership, closed plot,...). The first buildings were occupied by the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs until the transfer of the site to UNESCO in 1973. Buildings V and VI were built by Bernard Zehrfuss and the garden was designed by the landscape designer André de Vilmorin. The metal carpentry and brise soleil façade panels of Building V were designed in collaboration with Jean Prouvé.
In 1995, at the request of UNESCO, the Japanese architect Tadao Ando built a meditation space that symbolizes peace. UNESCO decided in 2010 to build a security outpost towards Place de Fontenoy. French architects Laurence Carminati and Yann Keromnes were named competition winners for their design, and on April 10, 2015, Irina Bokova, the organization's general director, inaugurated the new entrance.