St. Mark's Basilica
Introduction
The Basilica of Saint Mark is the main Catholic temple in the city of Venice (Italy) and the masterpiece of Byzantine architecture in Veneto. It has the rank of cathedral and also that of a patriarchal church, in addition to that of a basilica.
History
The construction of the original basilica was begun in the year 828 and completed in the year 832, to house supposed relics of Saint Mark the Evangelist stolen from Alexandria.[1] This fact was fundamental for Venice to become an independent episcopal see, since until then it had been subordinated to the bishoprics of Grado "Grado (Italy)") and Aquileia.[2].
Originally conceived with a Greek cross plan and a dome over the transept and the arms (five domes), the church was burned in a riot in the year 975 and rebuilt in the century by architects and workers from Constantinople. Work on the current Byzantine-style basilica began around 1063, and the new temple was consecrated in 1085, almost two decades later.
In the century a narthex covered with smaller domes was added that surrounds the lower arm of the cross. It was also modified in the centuries and .
A law of the Venetian Republic imposed as a tribute that lucky merchants, after doing profitable business, made a gift to beautify San Marco. Hence the variety of styles and materials. San Marcos is a living museum of Latinized Byzantine art. With its intact mosaic decoration, it maintains the characteristics of this style to a greater extent than the churches of Constantinople, which were whitewashed by the Turks, or those of Thessaloniki, smoked by fires.
The façade presents deep niches of Western influence, decorated with columns and gold mosaics from the 19th century. The four Horses of Saint Mark represent the strength of the state. In the century, gables were added to the arches of the upper floor and capitals, due to the influence of European Gothic. The exterior shape of the domes does not match the interior, and they appear larger than they really are. Much of the funds for its construction came from the Sack of Constantinople.
Exteriors
main facade
Many of the ornaments were returned by the crusaders or were gifts from wealthy merchants. The church was considered the Doge's personal chapel; An interior passage connects it to the Doge's Palace, which is located right next door.