Shed Cover
Introduction
A sawtooth roof is a type of roof "Roof (construction)") that comprises a series of ridges that form the ridges in which pairs of slopes with different inclinations on each side are joined. Steeper surfaces are typically glazed and oriented away from the equator to protect workers and machinery from direct sunlight. This type of roof allows natural light to be available in large, single-height buildings, such as industrial warehouses or factories.
Advantages
Having natural light in factories and workshops was a key aspect before electric lighting made it possible to work in interior rooms without depending on sunlight since the beginning of the century. The sawtooth roof, with its glass panels oriented away from the equator, blocks light and heat from direct sun exposure and provides uniform natural light over a large area. It was particularly useful in design and manufacturing departments of all types of factories.
Sawtooth structures have glazed areas arranged with a vertical or almost vertical slope integrated with the roof. They were usually arranged in series of three, and have historically been used as the main lighting source in industrial buildings and factories.[1].
History
19th century
British engineer and architect William Fairbairn is sometimes credited with the first designs of what he called the shed principle, possibly as early as 1827. In his Treatise on Mills and Woodworking, 1863, Fairbairn stated that: Contemporaneous with the architectural improvements in the mills [of 1827], the shed principle illuminated from the roof was put into practice. or the "sawtooth" system.* It was mainly adapted for the textile industry...[2] Its use expanded rapidly during the industrial revolution, when good natural lighting became an essential requirement of manufacturing processes and large areas of enclosed space were required to house machinery. The first documented example can be found in the Textile Warehouse of manufacturer Titus Salt in the industrial colony of Saltaire Mills, near Bradford, built in 1851.[3].