Review of historical walls
Introduction
The Archaeological Park of the Merinid Walls of Algeciras is located on Blas Infante Avenue, bordering Villa Nueva to the north and shows the archaeological remains uncovered in the excavations carried out in 1997. It covers approximately 6,000 square meters and is complemented by the Andalusian culture interpretation center located in a nearby building.
Discovery
The land where the archaeological park is located today was occupied by the infantry barracks built next to what was the Fort of Santiago and in front of Paseo Cristina. In 1996, once the military use of the barracks had been abandoned, they were demolished and the area urbanized. Initially, the works intended to expand Blas Infante Avenue to connect it with the promenade. The first tastings carried out on the land revealed its archaeological potential, causing a certain social alarm due to the possible destruction of the remains if the initial project was fulfilled.[1].
During 1997, the International Conference on Fortifications in Al-Andalus was held in the city. It was during this event that the researchers presented the results of the excavations and the recommendation to preserve the remains. With all this, the city government team decided to change the initial plans by diverting the extension to conserve the remains.[2] The site remained completely abandoned for nine years waiting for subsidies for its recovery; It was not until 2006 that there was a conservation project for the city's Marinid walls, when the agreements signed between the Junta de Andalucía and the city council made it possible to enhance the remains. The archaeological park and the interpretation center of Andalusian culture were inaugurated by the mayor of the town, Tomás Herrera Hormigo"), the president of the Provincial Council of Cádiz Francisco González Cabaña, the Minister of Culture of the Junta de Andalucía Rosario Torres and the subdelegate of the Government Sebastián Saucedo Moreno in November 2009.[3].
Archaeological context
Due to the destruction and subsequent abandonment of the city in 1379, Algeciras has almost no archaeological heritage. The area of the city where the remains of the Marinid walls were located corresponds to the so-called Old Town of Al-Yazirat Al-Hadra or North Enclosure. In this town, at the time of the excavations, no construction prior to 1730 was still standing except for a small 10-meter stretch of what was believed to be the wall in the lower part of what is now the park, on what was then Santiago Street. This canvas was interpreted as part of the wall although today it is known that it is the escarpment of the moat and part of the barbican. The existence of this small canvas and some old photographs in which it was possible to identify part of the current archaeological park led the researchers to think that remains of the northern enclosure could be preserved in the area; For this reason, the place was systematically excavated even before the city council forced tastings to be carried out within the so-called .[4].