parliamentary architecture
Introduction
The Canadian Parliament Buildings are the parliament buildings that house the Parliament of Canada, located on Parliament Hill, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.
parliament buildings
The Parliament Buildings are three buildings arranged around three sides of the central garden of Parliament Hill, the use and administration of the spaces within each building overseen by the speakers of each house of the legislature. (completed in 1876) at the rear of the building. The East Block (completed in 1866) and the West Block (completed in 1865) house the offices of ministers and senators, as well as meeting rooms and other administrative spaces.
The unifying style of the three structures is Gothic Revival, although the Center Block is a more modern Gothic Revival, while the older East and West Blocks are High Victorian Gothic.
Architecture
This collection is one of the world's most important examples of the Gothic Revival style; Although the form and design of the buildings are undoubtedly Gothic, they do not resemble any building constructed during the Middle Ages. The forms were the same, but their arrangement was singularly modern. The Parliament Buildings also departed from medieval models by integrating a variety of periods and styles of Gothic architecture, including elements from Britain, France, the Netherlands and Italy, all in three buildings. In his Hand Book to the Parliamentary and Departmental Buildings, Canada, 1867, Joseph Bureau wrote.
The sculptural ornament is supervised by the Sculptor of the Domain. Five people have held the position since its creation in 1936: Cléophas Soucy (1936-50), William Oosterhoff (1949-62), Eleanor Milne (1962-93), Maurice Joanisse (1993-2006) and Phil R. White (2006-present).[1]
Alterations
The only building on Parliament Hill that has been intentionally demolished is the former Supreme Court building, situated behind the West Block and which housed the Supreme Court of Canada between 1889 and 1945. Throughout the 1950s and 1960s there were proposals to demolish other buildings on the parliamentary grounds, such as the Parliament Library and the West Block to build new structures, and the East Block to build car parks, but none of these plans were implemented. approved.[4] In its place, reforms were undertaken in the East Block, starting in 1966.