North complex
The north of the Federal Palace includes:
Elliptical Room.
The main façade of the Elliptical Hall is adorned by two figures representing justice and freedom. Both were made by the artist Eloy Palacios.
The Hall has three divisions separated by two large arches. The rooms are named after the national colors; Thus the western section was called the Yellow Room, the Blue Room in the center and the eastern Red Room.
This is the most important Hall of the Capitol since it houses countless historical treasures such as the ark that contains the Book of Minutes of the First National Congress of Venezuela. There you can see the Declaration of Independence, signed on July 5, 1811. In addition, you can see the imposing oval dome 26 meters high and 13 meters wide, bathed in gold that crowns the roof of such an important structure. This dome was originally imported from Belgium and assembled in 1890, which was recently replaced by one made of anodized aluminum. At the top is the National Flag.
The government of General Juan Vicente Gómez was in charge of issuing a decree, on January 1, 1910, in which the original of the Book containing the Solemn Act of Independence discovered in 1907 in Valencia and accepted as such by the National Academy of History of Venezuela was ordered to be deposited in a special ark, installed in the Elliptical Hall of the Federal Palace.
This order was fulfilled a year later, in the commemoration of the first Centennial of Emancipation, on July 5, 1911. The book of Minutes of the Congress of 1811 has 436 pages and is known as the National Book of Venezuelans.
The Triptych Hall is separated from the Elliptical Hall by a vestibule. In other times it was the site of the Office of the President of the Republic and currently, according to tradition, it serves as a reception room when the President and his entourage visit the Palace. Its name is due to the painting made by Tito Salas in three parts: the left section represents the Oath of the Sacred Mount of Rome, the center the Andes Pass, and on the right the moment where the spirit of the Liberator Simón Bolívar leaves his body. In this room are all the original Constitutions of the republican life of Venezuela, the first being the Federal Constitution of 1811 to the current one of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, promulgated in 1999.
The Hall is located at the eastern end of the north body. It owes its name to the National Shield that adorns it and also to the representations of the various Shields of the Federal Entities of Venezuela. It was originally the seat of the Federal High Court, and is currently used for important meetings of parliamentary committees with officials or citizens.
South complex
The south of the Legislative Palace includes:
It is located in the northern area of the Federal Legislative Palace adjacent to the corner of San Aristótomo de Santander (Chief of the Bolívar pack). It is a spacious three-level environment: the northern part is occupied by the concave podium, where the Board of Directors is located. Further down are the Tribune of Honor and the Secretariat Table. In front are the new and modern seats of the Deputies. In the southern area are the boxes for guests of honor, press and the general public. Furthermore, in the northern part, specifically on the wall, there is an arch with the national colors, the eight stars of the Provinces of the Union and the National Coat of Arms with their letters in gold, as indicated by the Law of National Symbols itself.
Located in the southwest area of the Palace at the corner of the Stock Exchange, and is used for multinational sessions and other special events, it has the same structure and layout as the Hemicycle of the French infrastructure.
Side buildings
There are the offices and office of the Presidency of the National Assembly, and the Federal Legislative Library.
In the building, in its upper part, are the Offices of the First Vice Presidency of the National Assembly and that of the Secretary.
Central Courtyard
It is a large garden planted with chaguaramos (Roystonea oleracea) and other palm trees, which surround the sculptural fountain made in the United Kingdom. It arrived in Venezuela in January 1876 and was initially between the two lateral bodies of the building, but later due to the limited space it was removed to the center where it is currently.