Headquarters of the Chinese Communist Party | Construpedia
Navegación
Headquarters of the Chinese Communist Party
Introduction
Zhongnanhai (Chinese: 中南海, pinyin: Zhōngnánhăi) is a complex of buildings in Beijing, China, which serves as the central office of the Communist Party of China and is the official seat of the government of the People's Republic of China.
The word Zhongnanhai is often used metonymically, also designating the administration of the government of the People's Republic of China (just as, for example, "the White House" often refers to the government of the United States or "the Kremlin" refers to the government of Russia). Chinese presidents, including Hu Jintao, and other Communist Party leaders frequently meet with other official dignitaries at the complex.
Location
The name of the Zhongnanhai complex, located west of the Forbidden City, means "central and southern seas" or "lakes", referring to two lakes ("the Central Sea" and "the South Sea") that are located inside the complex. For this reason it is sometimes translated as "The Palaces of the Sea." These two lakes are part of a series of irrigation projects carried out during the construction of the Forbidden City. Also part of this system is the "North Sea", or "Beihai", currently a public park.
These three lakes (South, Central and North) were originally an imperial garden, with green areas on the shores of each lake, surrounded by a fence. Most of the pavilions, temples and tombs in the area are from this period. While the North Lake had a religious aspect, palaces were built on the shores of the Central and South Lakes.
History
During the Jin Dynasty, the northern section of Zhongnanhai was the so-called Taiye Lake (literally "Lake of Great Liquid"), with an attached palace called the Daning Gong ("Palace of Great Peace"). During the reign of the Yuan Dynasty, Taiye Lake was included in the Imperial City. It also spread, covering approximately the area encompassed by the Central and Northern lakes today. The three palaces were built around the lake.
After the Ming Dynasty moved the capital to Beijing, construction of the Forbidden City began in 1406. The Ming palace was south of the Yuan palace. Consequently, the South Sea was excavated south of the ancient lake. The excavated soil was piled up to build Jingshan), a hill north of the Forbidden City. Around this time, the three lakes were connected and collectively called Taiye Lake. The three lakes were separated by bridges, and were part of an extensive royal park to the west of the Imperial Palace.
Headquarters of the Chinese Communist Party
Introduction
Zhongnanhai (Chinese: 中南海, pinyin: Zhōngnánhăi) is a complex of buildings in Beijing, China, which serves as the central office of the Communist Party of China and is the official seat of the government of the People's Republic of China.
The word Zhongnanhai is often used metonymically, also designating the administration of the government of the People's Republic of China (just as, for example, "the White House" often refers to the government of the United States or "the Kremlin" refers to the government of Russia). Chinese presidents, including Hu Jintao, and other Communist Party leaders frequently meet with other official dignitaries at the complex.
Location
The name of the Zhongnanhai complex, located west of the Forbidden City, means "central and southern seas" or "lakes", referring to two lakes ("the Central Sea" and "the South Sea") that are located inside the complex. For this reason it is sometimes translated as "The Palaces of the Sea." These two lakes are part of a series of irrigation projects carried out during the construction of the Forbidden City. Also part of this system is the "North Sea", or "Beihai", currently a public park.
These three lakes (South, Central and North) were originally an imperial garden, with green areas on the shores of each lake, surrounded by a fence. Most of the pavilions, temples and tombs in the area are from this period. While the North Lake had a religious aspect, palaces were built on the shores of the Central and South Lakes.
History
During the Jin Dynasty, the northern section of Zhongnanhai was the so-called Taiye Lake (literally "Lake of Great Liquid"), with an attached palace called the Daning Gong ("Palace of Great Peace"). During the reign of the Yuan Dynasty, Taiye Lake was included in the Imperial City. It also spread, covering approximately the area encompassed by the Central and Northern lakes today. The three palaces were built around the lake.
Following the establishment of the Qing Dynasty's capital at Beijing, the government reduced the size of the royal park to a small fenced area around the three lakes. The numerous emperors who succeeded them built houses and pavilions along the three banks, where they would carry out government duties in the summer. During the reign of Empress Regent Cixi, she and the Emperor would often live in the Zhongnanhai compound, traveling to the Forbidden City only during official ceremonies.
During the Boxer Rebellion of 1900, the Russian army invaded Zhongnanhai, looting almost all of the decoration. Later, the commander of the Eight Nations Alliance also lived in Zhongnanhai. When Puyi was proclaimed Emperor, his father, the Prince Regent, lived for a short period in the complex.
Zhongnanhai gained significant importance during the Republic of China "History of the Republic of China (1912 - 1949)"), when the Beiyang Government, under the command of Yuan Shikai, located its decision center in the Zhongnanhai complex during 1912. This decision was made because the regime wanted to house its government very close to the historical center of power, in the Forbidden City, but could not use it for that purpose because the abdicated Emperor Puyi still lived there.
When the government of the Republic of China moved its capital to Nanjing, the Zhongnanhai complex was opened to the public as a park.
Zhongnanhai has been the seat of the central government since the early days of the People's Republic of China, founded in 1949, since which time many of the structures in the complex were built, which houses the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, as well as the State Council of the People's Republic of China. Early leaders such as Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai and Deng Xiaoping lived in the complex. Maps of Beijing show Zhongnanhai as an insignificant green area with a body of water; On the other hand, the municipal government is shown with a striking red star.
Zhongnanhai today
Since Zhongnanhai became the central government complex, it has remained inaccessible to the public. However, in the years of relative freedom that followed the end of the Cultural Revolution, from 1977 to 1985, the complex was open to the public, who could obtain tickets to visit it from government authorities. Following the political tumult that ended with the Tian'anmen Square Revolt, access was restricted.
The most important entrance to the complex is located to the south, at the Xinhua Gate (or New China Gate), surrounded by two signs wishing "long live the great Communist Party of China" and "long live the invincible Mao Zedong Thought." The view behind the entrance is screened by a wall with the sign "Serve the people", written in Zhou Enlai's handwriting. The entrance to Xinhuamen is on the north side of Chang'an Avenue.
On April 18, 1989, many students took up residence outside the Zhongnanhai compound. They were very visible to pedestrians on Chang'an Avenue. The students held signs that read "Down with the Dictatorship" and "Long Live Democracy." Many of the students also became involved in the Tiananmen Square Revolt. On April 20, Zhongnanhai guards attacked protesters with belts and batons. The attack gave renewed energy to protesters as news of the beating spread, and students sympathetic to the protests came from across China to “support Beijing,” ultimately leading to the Tian'anmen Revolt.
Zhongnanhai was also the site of the Falun Gong demonstrations in 1999.
• - TIME: Walled Heart of China's Kremlin Archived February 28, 2011 at the Wayback Machine.
After the Ming Dynasty moved the capital to Beijing, construction of the Forbidden City began in 1406. The Ming palace was south of the Yuan palace. Consequently, the South Sea was excavated south of the ancient lake. The excavated soil was piled up to build Jingshan), a hill north of the Forbidden City. Around this time, the three lakes were connected and collectively called Taiye Lake. The three lakes were separated by bridges, and were part of an extensive royal park to the west of the Imperial Palace.
Following the establishment of the Qing Dynasty's capital at Beijing, the government reduced the size of the royal park to a small fenced area around the three lakes. The numerous emperors who succeeded them built houses and pavilions along the three banks, where they would carry out government duties in the summer. During the reign of Empress Regent Cixi, she and the Emperor would often live in the Zhongnanhai compound, traveling to the Forbidden City only during official ceremonies.
During the Boxer Rebellion of 1900, the Russian army invaded Zhongnanhai, looting almost all of the decoration. Later, the commander of the Eight Nations Alliance also lived in Zhongnanhai. When Puyi was proclaimed Emperor, his father, the Prince Regent, lived for a short period in the complex.
Zhongnanhai gained significant importance during the Republic of China "History of the Republic of China (1912 - 1949)"), when the Beiyang Government, under the command of Yuan Shikai, located its decision center in the Zhongnanhai complex during 1912. This decision was made because the regime wanted to house its government very close to the historical center of power, in the Forbidden City, but could not use it for that purpose because the abdicated Emperor Puyi still lived there.
When the government of the Republic of China moved its capital to Nanjing, the Zhongnanhai complex was opened to the public as a park.
Zhongnanhai has been the seat of the central government since the early days of the People's Republic of China, founded in 1949, since which time many of the structures in the complex were built, which houses the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, as well as the State Council of the People's Republic of China. Early leaders such as Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai and Deng Xiaoping lived in the complex. Maps of Beijing show Zhongnanhai as an insignificant green area with a body of water; On the other hand, the municipal government is shown with a striking red star.
Zhongnanhai today
Since Zhongnanhai became the central government complex, it has remained inaccessible to the public. However, in the years of relative freedom that followed the end of the Cultural Revolution, from 1977 to 1985, the complex was open to the public, who could obtain tickets to visit it from government authorities. Following the political tumult that ended with the Tian'anmen Square Revolt, access was restricted.
The most important entrance to the complex is located to the south, at the Xinhua Gate (or New China Gate), surrounded by two signs wishing "long live the great Communist Party of China" and "long live the invincible Mao Zedong Thought." The view behind the entrance is screened by a wall with the sign "Serve the people", written in Zhou Enlai's handwriting. The entrance to Xinhuamen is on the north side of Chang'an Avenue.
On April 18, 1989, many students took up residence outside the Zhongnanhai compound. They were very visible to pedestrians on Chang'an Avenue. The students held signs that read "Down with the Dictatorship" and "Long Live Democracy." Many of the students also became involved in the Tiananmen Square Revolt. On April 20, Zhongnanhai guards attacked protesters with belts and batons. The attack gave renewed energy to protesters as news of the beating spread, and students sympathetic to the protests came from across China to “support Beijing,” ultimately leading to the Tian'anmen Revolt.
Zhongnanhai was also the site of the Falun Gong demonstrations in 1999.
• - TIME: Walled Heart of China's Kremlin Archived February 28, 2011 at the Wayback Machine.