Declaration of Technical Ruin
Introduction
The palace of the Viscount of Palazuelos was a palace located in the center of Guadalajara (Spain) "Guadalajara (Spain)"). It was integrated into a set of civil architecture characteristic of Renaissance Guadalajara. It belonged to the lords of Miralrío") and was located on the eastern front of the Plaza de San Esteban&action=edit&redlink=1 "Plaza de San Esteban (Guadalajara) (not yet written)"), next to the palace of the Counts of Medina") and in front of the old convent of San Esteban&action=edit&redlink=1 "Convent of San Esteban (Guadalajara) (not yet written)"). It was demolished in March 2012.
History
To date, it has not been possible to document the moment and those responsible (mentor, architect and master builder) for the construction of the palace of the Viscount of Palazuelos, but a first commission is usually attributed to Pedro del Hierro, knight of the Order of Santiago since 1537 and commander of Montiel. He, along with his wife María de Herrera, was responsible for transferring the domicile of the estate from the nearby town of Alovera to the city of Guadalajara. Although one of his descendants could also have intervened, Diego del Hierro y Herrera"), knight of Santiago and the Council of the Royal Treasury"), first Viscount of Palazuelos") since 1693 and senior lieutenant of Guadalajara between 1696 and 1706.
According to the data collected in the Ensenada Cadastre, in 1752 it was property of José del Hierro y Herrera"), a resident of Toledo, this being the only estate that the then Viscount of Palazuelos had in the area of Guadalajara.[1].
In 1887 the architect Vicente García Ron "draws up a project to reform the palace at the request of the Count of Cedillo, who was acting on behalf of his son, Jerónimo López de Ayala, a minor and Viscount of Palazuelos"). The projected works addressed the rearrangement of the openings in the facades and the partition walls) on the ground floor, although both the report and the attached plans focused on the work on the exterior. The action proposed by the architect was aimed at completing the organization of the facades by imposing well-defined and proportioned vertical rhythms. rainwater with the clear intention of structuring the wall. The final result of this intervention is what, with minimal alterations, the property offers today.
In 1923, according to the Urbana Cadastre, the Palazuelos palace was owned by Catalina Cotaina Concha, heiress of the industrialist Antero Concha). Vicente Pedromingo"), head of a typographic and stationery workshop, presented in June 1933 a new renovation project signed by the architect Aurelio Botella Enríquez"). With this intervention, the aim was to expand the space dedicated to commercial activity by opening a large opening, placing two iron girders in the load-bearing wall of the "Crujía (architecture)" bay parallel to the Beladíez crossing and incorporating that ambulatory and part of the open space to the public service area. To do this, in addition, another wall had to be built to cover two thirds of the patio with a glass window on iron joists, which is the still existing distribution. By then, the patio corridor on the upper floor was already closed with carpentry windows.