Ecclesiastical monuments
• - Parish Church of Nuestra Señora de la Asunción: from the beginning of the century, in its foundation it was the hermitage of Nuestra Señora de los Remedios, converted into a parish due to the fire that occurred in the Second Carlist War of the parish church Nuestra Señora Santa María del Valle, it preserves the transept, dressing room and sacristy from its foundation, the rest of the building is an extension in 1926 carried out by the master bricklayer Fausto de la Calle. It has a reproduction of the late Baroque with a Jesuit style and whose historical-artistic value is best preserved in the presbytery; 7 paintings from an altarpiece from the second half of the century, works by Juan Correa de Vivar from Toledo. They are made in oil on panel with magnificent carved frames and represent the life of Christ: The Annunciation (oval), Visitation (oval), Presentation of Jesus in the Temple, Jesus among the doctors, Road to Calvary, The Pietà, Burial of Christ. The patron saint, Our Lady of Remedies, presides over the main altar, guarded by a dressing room. The Sagrario chapel preserves the last altarpiece of one of the oratories that the Castle of Calatrava La Nueva had; In it there is also a devotional painting of the Virgin from the middle of the century, only three are preserved in the province of Ciudad Real. In relation to documentation, it also preserves some books of births and deaths from 1597 and marriages from 1618. On July 25, 1936, the images were burned and the objects of worship destroyed and sold.
• - Hermitage of the Savior of the World: Also called Calvary, it is located outside the walls. It is mentioned in documents as early as 1463, so it is very likely that it was built before that time. It burned down in 1657 and was rebuilt in 1780. It has a Latin cross plan and an open transept with a square dome. It has masonry walls with brickwork and pillars. Its façade is slender, with a stone doorway with pilasters and Renaissance moldings; the whole is finished off by a wide belfry with a bell. On the pendentives, inscribed in a medallion, the symbols of the four Spanish military orders appear: Order of Alcántara, Order of Calatrava, Order of Montesa and Order of Santiago. It preserves inside an oval panel that represents the Prayer in the Garden by the painter Juan Correa de Vivar painted between 1550 and 1557. Its altarpiece is carved by the Sevillian Manuel Guzmán Bejarano. At the back of the enclosure, it preserves the doorway of what was the Prior's House, with a raised threshold, jambs and lintel in carved stone, a shield with two crossed keys and two calatrava crosses on both sides. It is the headquarters of the town's patron saint, where the Brotherhood of the Holy Christ the Savior of the World celebrates its services in September.
• - Hermitage of San Sebastián: Erected in the first decade of the century. The hermitage, which is located within the town, was then located outside the walls, in the common land located to the east of it, a neighborhood that retains its name. It is a nave 16 meters long by 7 meters wide, highlighting only the rough stone doorway that opens on the southern façade of the hermitage, in Gothic style, as well as the windows that have preserved their pointed shape. It is located in the Plaza de San Sebastián. It was used to bury part of the corpses of the 1804 epidemic. It houses four very old images that were saved from the Spanish civil war, the titular one of San Sebastián "Sebastián (martyr)"), Santa Bárbara "Bárbara (martyr)") (which resided for centuries in the Nuestra Señora de los Remedios hermitage), San Isidro Labrador and San Antón along with the image of Santa Gema. The Brotherhood of San Sebastián and San Antón celebrate their services there, both in the month of January. On July 18, 1936, it was burned, looted and the images destroyed.
• - Hermitage of the Holy Trinity: It must have been erected at the beginning or middle of the century. It was run and assisted by the Trinitarian fathers, who depended on the convent of the Santísima Trinidad de Membrilla, whose presence in the town is recorded in 1637. During the century it fell into oblivion, remaining in a ruinous state. Don Santiago Julio Maldonado y Maldonado-Cisneros, ordered in his will to rebuild said hermitage, transferring the mortal remains of the testate, his deceased parents, his wife and other successors in the board of trustees. He also ordered the construction of a building attached to the hermitage, whose building would be used as a hospital for the poor. After the destruction of the hermitage in July 1936, it was rebuilt by order of Don Santiago Maldonado Ladrón de Guevara, and the chapel and priestly house were inaugurated and blessed on January 7, 1962. After this reconstruction, the interior ornamentation underwent several changes. Currently, the image of the Holy Christ of Forgiveness presides over its main altar, accompanied by the noble shields on both sides of the Maldonado family, on the left wall three niches that house the image of Saint Christopher, Saint James the Apostle and the Holy Trinity. At the bottom of said wall, there is a tombstone with the inscription of the remains of its restorer and at the foot of the altar staircase, a tombstone with the inscription of the mortal remains of the parents of the benefactor of the hermitage. Currently it is the Brotherhood House of the Brotherhood of San Cristóbal, where they hold their services in July and a Stations of the Cross during Lent.
• - Hermitage of San Isidro: On May 15, 1890, the festival of the Ascension of Jesus Christ at 9 in the morning, the blessing of the hermitage was recorded by the parish priest D. Francisco Solís y Gutiérrez, and a solemn mass was celebrated. Built on the site called "Cruz del Humilladero", at the expense of the resident and native of Calzada, Mr. León de León y García. It is a 9 by 5 meter warehouse with a height of 4.5 meters, with walls of mortar, stones and bricks and a tiled floor, outside the Calzada walls.
Currently, in addition to the titular image, there is also the image reconstructed after the Spanish civil war of Nuestra Señora del Valverde.
In the "Cruz del Humilladero" there was a Via Crucis formed by crosses along the path until reaching said cross.
• - Nuestra Señora de la Soledad Hermitage: Built in the 19th century. With the arrival of the Capuchin fathers, it was expanded, adding two chapels. Oriented towards the east in its origin, its main door was located within the precinct of the convent to which only the monks had access. Later, another door was opened in the southern part, currently located within the courtyard of San Francisco, for the comfort of the faithful, later expanded, becoming the main door. This is why the niche where Saint Francis of Assisi is located is taller than the rest, since it was where the main altar was located. Following the custom of most Capuchin churches, the altar was presided over by a large painted canvas that served as an altarpiece. This occupied the entire front, adapting to the arch of the vault and leaving a space for the niche. Its altarpiece located on the main altar is the work of the Mossi brothers, previously located in the Nuestra Señora de la Asunción parish. It is the Brotherhood House of the Nuestra Señora de la Soledad or Vera Cruz Brotherhood and it houses the images of Our Lady of Solitude (Francisco Pablo, 1941), María Santísima de la Amargura (Miguel Bellido, Seville, 1998), Jesus in the garden (anonymous image, preserved during the Spanish civil war), Saint Francis of Assisi and the guiding cross of the brotherhood (the Prince).
• - Convent of Capuchin Fathers: On January 16, 1719, Beatriz Carrillo left in her will that from her assets, a convent of Capuchin Religious be founded next to the hermitage of Nuestra Señora de la Soledad, worshiping Saint Francis of Assisi. On May 22, 1729, the first stone of the Calzada convent was laid, dedicated to San Luis, bishop of Tolosa. The act was done with the greatest solemnity, and Don Juan Quijano, Prior of the Sacred Convent of Calatrava La Nueva, was in charge of carrying out the laying ceremony. On May 13, 1843, it was sold in full confiscation, including a library with 998 books and 8 paintings, acquired by José Muñoz, a native and resident of Calzada. Preserves the V.O.T. hall. where the library was located.
Currently, it is the Patio de San Francisco, being a meeting place during Holy Week in Calzadeña, holding many of its events there. It is presided over by an image of Saint Francis of Assisi, located in a glass niche.
civil architecture
• - Salvatierra Castle "Salvatierra Castle (Ciudad Real)"): Salvatierra Castle is a fortress of Muslim origin located in front of the neighboring Sacro Castillo-Convento de Calatrava La Nueva. Nearby passes one of the most important natural routes that cross the Sierra Morena and link the Central Plateau with the Guadalquivir depression. Its stark walls, with an unmistakable silhouette, resist the passage of time as evocative witnesses of legendary feats tinged with war, prayer and hope. It is declared a Site of Cultural Interest "Bien de Interés Cultural (Spain)"), protected by the generic Declaration of the Decree of April 22, 1949, and Law 16/1985 on Spanish Historical Heritage. Currently, it is on the Red List of Heritage.
• - Castillo de los Cristianos or castle of D. Alonso: Publicly owned, it is a small fortified structure that stands in the Sierra de la Atalaya, about 600 meters in a straight line from the Castle of Salvatierra, of which it functioned as a stepfather, and which must have been built at the beginning of the century. Currently, thanks to the archaeological studies carried out promoted by the City Council in collaboration with the UCLM, it has been virtually rebuilt; It can be found at the municipality's tourist office.
• - Town hall: Built at the end of the century, it was demolished in 2006, building the current one in the same place, its most notable part is the clock tower, an artistic example made of wrought iron. The current one was inaugurated by José María Barreda.
• - Plaza de España: Demolished several times, the current plaza dates back to 2006. It is built with black and white cobblestones with five circles on the ground that represent the coins used in the Game of Faces. The town hall is located there and it is the nerve center of the town.
• - Wheat silo: Being one of the largest in the province of Ciudad Real, it was painted on the outside by the international artist Okuda San Miguel in 2019 within the "IamTITANES" project, making it a provincial reference for its color, originality and grandeur.
• - Guesthouse - Knights' Infirmary: Built by the Order of Calatrava to accommodate the families and visitors of the knights and friars, with a patio of columns, a central well and rooms around it. Its façade is linteled with the Calatrava shield of the century.
• - Casa de la Tercia: Dates from the 1st century. It is a stone house with vertical brick stripes. The richest decoration is concentrated in the main door, framed by two divided pilasters like a drum and a very marked entablature. The set is crowned by three very deteriorated heraldic motifs of different sizes and a door decorated with two fleurs-de-lis. The tercia was a tax collected in ancient times, both by civil and ecclesiastical authorities, which consisted of one third of the grain or cereal collected, stored in these houses. It belonged to the Master Table of the Order of Calatrava, it became the property of the Senior Sacristan.