Architecture of historic spas
Introduction
The Carratraca spa is a symbol of the municipality of Carratraca (province of Málaga, Andalusia, Spain) and a key element of its historic complex. It is one of the most representative spas in Andalusia; It is a sample of the life and social activity of the bourgeoisie, public health and charity during the century and is part, in turn, of the history of medicine itself. Although the Spa has lost its former heyday and splendor, it has been closed for business reasons since the coronavirus pandemic.
, and formally maintains the typical characteristics of this type of construction, with a centralized lobby, bathroom gallery in one bay and common bathrooms at the other end.
History
The construction of this property was due to the transfer to a private company of the management of the spa's waters, in April 1852. It established numerous conditions, among which is the construction of a stone building, in accordance with the plans drawn up by the architect José Trigueros. The inauguration of the new spa building took place on June 29, 1855.
Characteristics
The building appears divided into three bodies with a reddish sandstone façade, the central two-story one, with a large door and two windows on its ground floor, and five balconies on its upper floor. It is finished with a pediment with a window and an oval opening in the tympanum. The lateral bodies, with only one floor, have doors at their ends and five windows each. Inside, a large hall gives way first to two corridors, the one on the right leads to the pools and the one on the left to the warm baths; From this there is also access to other rooms and the stairs to the second floor.
The gallery of the temperate baths has on its right side, in the middle of it, the drinking fountain, with stairs on both sides that give access to the boilers, pumps and tank; The bathrooms are also distributed on both sides, leaving at the back a room reserved for the Empress Eugenia de Montijo, although she never visited the bathrooms.
The corridor on the right gives way, first, to a patio where the sweet bath rooms were originally located and from here there is access to some elliptical patios in the center of which are the swimming pools, also elliptical, measuring 5 m by 5.30 m. Initially these pools were designed to be circular, but to make better use of the limited land available they were changed to elliptical. Likewise, originally, these patios were covered by a toric vault, its function being to concentrate the gases released by the water that have a therapeutic effect. These pools are surrounded by four large white marble plinths that each support two marble columns on which rests a compression ring of the old toric vault. The interior of the pool is accessed via a wide staircase.