April 25 Bridge
Introduction
The 25 de Abril Bridge (Portuguese: ponte 25 de Abril) is a large suspension bridge in Portugal that spans the estuary of the Tagus River, in the metropolitan area of Lisbon. Officially designed in its day as Salazar bridge, having been ordered built by the head of the Government of Portugal, António de Oliveira Salazar in 1960, it began to be designated with its current name after the Revolution of April 25, 1974, which restored democracy in Portugal. Currently, the 25 de Abril bridge is considered one of the main symbols and icons of the city of Lisbon.
Imposing in appearance, the steel construction extends almost 2 km. The lower part was recently renovated to house train tracks. The bridge's frequent traffic jams were partially solved with the construction of the 12 km Vasco da Gama Bridge, which spans the Tagus River from Montijo (Montijo (Portugal)) to Sacavém, north of Parque das Nações, which was completed in 1998.
On the bridge over the Tagus River you can constantly hear the sound of cars moving on metal grates along the bridge (it is advisable not to drive at high speed on the bridge, since the grating on its board makes the car not safe or stable enough above 70 km/h).
History
In 1953, the Portuguese Ministry of Public Works created a commission to study the technical and financial viability of the construction of a bridge over the Tagus River, near Lisbon.
On April 27, 1959, a competition was called for the construction of said bridge. It is required that it have two independent boards, each of which will be used for a means of transportation. In this way, a lower platform focused on railway traffic is provided while the upper deck is reserved for motor vehicle traffic.
The execution of this work will involve the involvement of up to 14 different companies, of which 11 will be Portuguese. In addition, there will be days when 3,000 workers gather on this bridge.
This competition is won by the Steinman, Boynton, Gronquist & London Engineering Firm, of New York.
Subsequently, the government will decide only to adapt the platform reserved for vehicles to traffic, postponing the connection of the rail link with the rest of the railway network.
On May 9, 1962, the State awarded the construction to an international consortium led by the North American United States Steel International. On November 5 of that year, work on the bridge and its road access began.